What is Foursquare?

When I first saw the term “foursquare” being the topic for this blog, I had no idea what the word meant to the Twitter world. The last time I said it was when I was in middle school and I wanted to play it! So I had to do some investigating in order to understand what it was exactly. Even after visiting the Foursquare website, I was still confused as to what this application or service even did. I researched a little more and discovered that it is essentially a social friend-finder and adventure game that allows people to “check-in” to the application when there are at various destinations and allow people to locate them. People can write reviews and get awarded with badges and honors for visiting certain places more than other users. Companies can benefit greatly from this by having customers compete and try to visit their businesses more often and by getting their names out there through the program and free advertising. When friends talk about a good experience they had at a new local restaurant, others on Foursquare may see this and want to eat there as well. And it was via the application and not paid advertising! On the other hand, if people post bad reviews or negative information on a specific business, others will read this and be hesistant. It can be dangerous to constantly post your location because people are creepy and may be following you, and also if you are visiting places when you should be working and someone sees this at work, your boss may not be happy! I do not have a phone with applications, but I think Foursquare would be fun!

3 Comments

Filed under PRCA 3030 Social Media, TOW- Topics of the Week

3 responses to “What is Foursquare?

  1. Brittany Maree

    It took me a while to figure out exactly what Foursquare was too. I really don’t know if I like it or not yet. It seems interesting, but I think it could be a good or bad thing for businesses that are being reviewed. It could be great for businesses as far as name recognition, but it could be bad if people are discussing bad aspects of the place. This is especially true for restuarants if they have a review about bad service or something like that. The only other issue I have is letting everyone know what I am doing all the time is a little too much information than I would like people to know, in my opinion.

  2. marielorelei

    I definitely agree with you that Foursquare could have many dangers to its users. It is never a good idea to keep people too updated on your comings and goings. There could be people out there that don’t like you for whatever reason and by posting your location, you are almost inviting them to do their worst.

    The whole idea of the Foursquare application seems to be that you “check in” to places and you can earn badges for your participation. I’m not sure just what has to be done to get these badges or if they’re even redeemable for anything, but it seem to be one of the major points to the “game.”

  3. Pingback: Social Media Blog Comments (12) « Life as a Dreamer

Leave a Reply

