My Blog Comments- 3030

#1. “Social Media: Is It A Job Seekers Best Friend?” by Jeff Carter

(3/3/10) This was an excellent post that showed how important it is for graduates and job-seekers to be aware of the pros and cons of social media. I use Twitter, Facebook, and have my blog that is strictly for class, but I have recently gone through my Facebook and Twitter settings and made sure nothing inappropriate or silly is on them. The thing about the Internet is that is holds things forever, and it is virtually impossible to erase your mistakes! So employees need to make sure they are making wise decisions about what information they are sharing to the world! Social media seems to have more positives than negatives and this blog was clear in pointing them out! Thanks Jeff.

#2. “Cover Letter Tips for the Public Relations Majors” by Meghan Callahan

(3/3/10) I really liked the term “netiquette.” I have never heard it before and it is a good way to describe the kind of web manners you should have when connecting with potential employers. It made me think about how I need to be very prepared when I go on a job interview. I never really thought too much about researching the company and knowing its complete history and facts about it. This is obviously an important thing to do because you want them to know that you are ready to be an active part of their team. I never knew there was so much pressure on creating the perfect cover letter, but it is obviously a big part of the resume.

#3. “Dress for Success: What to Wear to a Media/PR/Marketing Interview” by Jesse Jordan

(3/3/10)  Thanks for writing such an insightful piece about what to wear to a job interview specific to public relations and marketing! I am not the type of girl who likes to wear suits and boring patterns, and it is reassuring that you say it is important that we show our personal style when we go on an interview. Obviously depending on what kind of public relations position you are holding and where you are working may depend on how you dress down the line, but your tips for how to present yourself in general were simple and effective. I am actually moving to Charleston in August, and wondered how you can dress comfortable but professional in the hot summer? I am so used to wearing shorts and flip-flops and dressing for the beach, but I know those will not do! I really enjoy your blog, it is refreshing and fun to read!

#4. “ChatRoulette: Keep your clothes on and lock up the children. This social media site is nasty.” by Coney Media

(3/3/10) I was somewhat confused as to what Chat Roulette was until I read this article, but now I understand why it is making headlines. Despite it being rough around the edges, I think it is an extremely interesting site that is going to engage only more users as time goes on. People are always going to abuse the Internet and want to do risque things, and parents need to watch their kids and monitor the sites they are visiting if they are concerned about online predators. I want to visit the site but I am hesitant that I will end up seeing something I do not want to see! On the other hand, all I would have to do is click out of the box. I think Chat Roulette wasn’t intended for the way it is getting a bad reputation, but if used with good intentions, it is a cool way to meet people from all over the world in a random way.

#5. “What to Wear to an Interview” by Micaela Starr Carter

(3/9/10) I thought you did a really job of pointing out important tips for dressing appropriate. I never thought of dressing for an interview as one of the most important occasions other than your wedding dress! But this is a good point. It is crucial to cover up any piercings or tattoos because this could be sending the wrong message to the interviewer. I recently took some of my earrings out of my ears that could be considered weird or inappropriate because I know they are not professional and I will be interviewing before I know it. I think having good hygiene is just as crucial as dressing nicely. If people have gross fingernails or dry skin, that is so noticeable and gross to me. I would never want to go to an interview not feeling and looking my best. Also, good point in making sure your underwear doesn’t hang out! Because it  happens more than you think.

#6. “Meh or Shmay, 2010 is Just Another Year” by Jeremy Popper

(3/9/10) Reading this post was extremely refreshing. I am required to read other public relations blogs for my online classes, and I get tired of reading about everything positive and happy all the time, when I guarantee that is not always the case, especially for a field where dealing with problems and fixing issues is the main job. One of my online classes deals specifically with social media and the ways it is changing public relations, and I love that you do not think it is necessarily going to “change the world.” I cannot agree more. While it is an excellent tool for companies to use in creating easy relationships with customers, it does have its faults and is not as great as it’s played up to be. People can talk all they want about change and making a positive contribution to the world of pubic relations and communications, but I have not been that impressed with anything that I have learned about. Until something absolutely amazing comes along and causes people everywhere to live easier, then I will be convinced. Until then, I will enjoy honest and down-to-earth blogs like yours.

#7. “Internship Advice” by Micaela Carter

(3/29/10) There was really good advice in this post. I am starting to intern in May also and cannot believe I have made it this far. It will be interesting to see what kind of doors might be opened up depending on where I intern, who I meet, and what I can accomplish. Networking is extremely important as you pointed out, and hopefully I can get some sort of job through the people I know. I am anxious to find out what I will be doing during my internship, whether it will be some sort of writing, creating brochures, implementing social media, or getting coffee. I think either way, it is going to be great to finally apply some of the skills we have learned in college in a professional setting. Good tip about keeping a professional souvenir. It never hurts to add to your portfolio, even if it is something small. Timeliness is extremely important when it comes to work, and that will be something I have to work on! Good luck with your internship and career!

#8. “Foursquare” by Brittany Cook

(3/29/10) I liked that you said Foursquare is Google mixed with Facebook and Twitter, that is a really good point. I don’t have Internet on my phone, but if I did, I wouldn’t join Foursquare. I don’t know anyone that uses it and if I really wanted someone to know where I was and what I was doing, I would make it a point to let them know personally. I think it is a good tool for businesses and local community places to gain popularity through word-of-mouth, but I think the application is just another silly social media fad that is not necessary. It is a simple form of free advertising for companies and I can see why they would want to use it. I am still kind of confused about what you do on Foursquare but I will never use it so oh well.

#9. “Nestle’s Bittersweet Social Media Recipe Cooks Up Bad PR” by Jules Zunich

(3/29/10) I enjoyed reading your post after I recently saw the Anti-Nestle video online a few days ago. I didn’t think it was that disturbing,but it obviously created a lot of buzz. I had no idea what Nestle had to do with the rainforest, but now I understand why the Greenpeace organization was upset. I only associate Nestle with candy and happy thoughts! (I love dark chocolate raisinets, too!) It really is interesting to see public relations in action, especially through all of the forms of social media that have been created over the past years. I am still in school, and I liked the four R’s of crisis management. That is a great and basic tool for remembering how to solve a problem! I also enjoyed your style of writing. It was catchy and made me laugh! Thanks

#10. “What makes a video a viral video” by Marie Lorelei

(4/12/10) The LEGS acronym you mentioned was so true! I didn’t know so many factors went into making a video “viral.” The other factors that can make a video popular and interesting were definitely appropriate. There are millions of random videos out there on the Internet, and if you want yours to be viewed by millions of people, you need to think of a way to make it appealing. I don’t know how many times I have watched stupid videos on YouTube because they make me laugh and are just so ridiculous. I often end up watching more videos because they suggest other videos related to the one you just watched. Thanks for mentioning some great tips on how to make your video stand out. I don’t record videos but definitely will keep them in mind if I ever decide to put something funny on the Internet!

#11. “Toyota is Looking Up!” by Makenzie Stratton

(4/12/10) You made some excellent points about how Toyota is attempting to repair their image after the all of the recalls. It is obviously crucial for them to act fast and appropriate in the wake of the recent crisis. Toyota is such a big name in cars, and it surprises me that they have actually had an increase in sales during the past month. They must have some excellent PR or some extremely loyal customers! Either way, it seems the public relations tactics that they are using are having a positive impact on their brand. Having a crisis or problem is inevitable with any company, so it is important to have a good backup plan ready. It seems the Toyota PR had ideas ready and used them in a good way.

#12. “Foursquare: A New Way to Track Waldo” by Jeff Carter

(4/13/10) I liked how you compared using Foursquare to tracking Waldo. So true. I do not think I would ever use Foursquare because first of all, I do not have a phone with Internet. I also do not necessarily want anyone knowing where I am at all times, even my family and friends. If they need to know, I will tell them! In my opinion, social media programs such as Foursquare are silly and unnecessary. For me, using Facebook and Twitter is plenty. I can see how it can benefit businesses and be fun to sort of play a game, but it is a waste of time to me. I barely have enough time to write in my blog, let alone try to be the mayor or some fake city!

#13. “Trade Book Review” by Jessica Cameron

(4/13/10) I wish I would have read the book you did for your trade book review because I like the title! I think putting the social aspect back into public relations is so important. I would much rather connect on a personal level, and I am glad I am not the only one who thinks so. I didn’t know about the difference between social science and social media. I think it is important to study social science in order to better understand the ways people communicate in our society. I think social media is a growing and interesting tool that public relations professionals and everyone in the work force can use for their benefit, but I really think PR should focus on relating in person. It is hard to tell if someone will be as outgoing in person as they are in their blog.

#14. “Social Media and Wedding Planning?” by Kacie Whigham

(4/13/10) I also had no idea that social media could be such a large component of planning a wedding! Nowadays, it seems that everything can be done online. Using the Internet to contact people and make decisions is obviously a fast and easy way to make plans. By sharing registries, getting in touch with friends and family, and organizing showers and parties, using social media is a free and easy method. I don’t plan on getting married anytime soon, but I am sure I will implement social media into my wedding in one form or another! Best of luck to you in planning everything in the future.

#15. “Cable, really? That’s so last millennium” by Marie Lorelei

(4/15/10) It doesn’t surprise me at all that television is going viral. I watch and enjoy hulu also, but sometimes I can’t find the episodes I want and don’t like waiting for the commercials. Nonetheless, it is still a great site that I visit frequently. However, I would much watch my favorite television shows the old-fashioned way, on TV. I am very indecisive about what I want to watch, and I would much rather have the networks chose what is on when I have my free time. I know this sounds weird, but it’s just how I feel. I am not into new-technology and do not plan on buying an Iphone or using anything other than my TV to watch shows. It is definitely exciting to see how cable is changing. If I happen to miss a show, I simply DVR it. Recording makes it easy and I can watch them at ease when I want also.

#16. “Social Media Resume?” by Makenzie Stratton

(4/15/10) I agree that adding a “social media contact” section to a resume is a smart idea. I wasn’t sure if I would be using my blogging skills of knowledge of Facebook and Twitter anytime soon, but recently I got an internship. The first thing that I am going to do for the company is make a Facebook group and update social media for them. I felt relieved because we have learned so much about this in Social Media in PR. It will be interesting to actually implement my skills in the real world. Companies, especially with older employees, need young people to bring social media to them!

#17. “Is Kell on Earth, bad news for the PR World?” by Makenzie Stratton

(4/15/10) I remember watching Kelly Cutrone on the Hills and thinking how scary and intimidating she was! I do not think I would be able to stress and high-tempo of working for someone like that. She is obviously very successful in the world of PR and fashion, and I loved watching “Kell on Earth.” I found that she really had a heart, after all. I think her employees are funny and I give them a lot of credit for putting up with all of the drama. I think the show is great because it will definitely shed light on a profession that many are unaware of and show people how much work and effort PR really is! It’s great that networks are featuring shows on topics that we can definitely learn tips from.

#18. “Sea World Disaster” by Matt Mauney

(4/15/10) I heard about this story, but was not that surprised. It is obviously such a horrible tragedy for the victim’s family and everyone surrounding the event. The trainers are well aware that these whales have the potential and strength to hurt anything in their paths, but the whales that are trained are much calmer. The whale thought it was playing a game with the victim, and was unaware he was causing harm to her. This may sound bad, but I am sure that the people who world for Sea World would much rather die doing something they love than losing their life another way. Much love to the people suffering from this event.

#19. “T.O.W. week 8” by Matt Mauney

(4/15/10) Podcasts are so interesting in that they are free and you can subscribe to as many as you want! I haven’t listened to podcasts in awhile, but I used to listen to ones from my favorite comedians and other random topics when I first got an Ipod a few years ago. They are definitely a great social media outlet that PR professionals and anyone in the business world in general should take advantage of. I think it’s great that companies such as Sea World and Toyota have used them to voice their comments to customers. Listening to actual employer voices is so much more personal than watching a TV commercial or reading a press release.

#20. “Who’s listening to your blogs” by Ashley London

(4/15/10) I totally agree that is feels good to receive a blog comment! While I feel that half of the posts I write are only read by myself or Profesor Nixon, it is nice to know that others are interested in what you have to say from time to time. I do not see the need to set a blog as “private” unless you are obviously posting things that you do not want others to read. For the purpose of my online classes, I do not say anything that I would be embarrassed for anyone online to read. When I come home and see that I have blog comments, it definitely is like oh, hey! It makes you feel less lonely in such a large online universe.

#21. “T.O.W. 13- Videos going Viral” by Makenzie Stratton

(4/15/10) I think the sneezing baby panda video is so cute! And Charlie bit my finger is one of my all-time favorites as well. Viral videos are great because they are simple and appeal to people of all ages. While some of them can be completely ridiculous and stupid in my opinion, I love looking them up when I am having a bad day or simply want a good laugh. Viral videos are so popular because anyone can relate to them and upload them in seconds. It is truly amazing how many videos and webcasts sites like YouTube have! I imagine it is millions. Watching videos online is like having “America’s Funniest Home Videos” at your fingertips. I love it!

#22. “The Visibility of a Search Engine” by Jeff Carter

(4/15/10) I think 89% of people using search engines seems like a whole lot! I know that Google is my go-to website for anything and everything I do. I use it every single day if I get online. It always produces the information I am looking for, and best of all, it is easy and free! I love that there is only one space to enter the keywords because this keeps it simple and to the point. I do not know if I have ever used an encyclopedia or a dictionary in the past years, but if I have, they have been online. Google and other search engines are truly changing the way we search.

#23. “Topic of the Week 13: Viral Videos” by Brittany Cook

(4/15/10) Social media definitely depends on participation. None of these viral videos or blogs would be worth anything unless others viewed or commented on them. Things get popular online because others share links and send them to their friends. So many videos become popular because they are bizarre and out of the ordinary. People enjoy watching others do dumb things! It is an important skill for PR practitioners to know how to make videos and podcasts because they may come in handy on a job.

#24. “Should a Business Adopt a Social Media Channel?” by Jeff Carter

(4/15/10) One of the best aspects of social media is that it can help build customer and client relationships. It is a great way for clients to give their input on company products and services, and for the businesses to get this advice in return, for free. I don’t know many long I’ve waited on the phone with companies such as Dell and not been able to talk to a real person. This is so frustrating, especially when I have given them my time and business. I think having a blog or Twitter account is great because it allows for free and immediate responses from both parties.

#25. “The Right Area of PR for You” by Meghan Callahan

(4/15/10) I really liked the link to this video! I think it is very hard to figure out what area of public relations to work in, especially when most graduates do not have experience or knowledge of all of the areas PR can cover. I don’t know how many times people have asked me what kind of work I would like to do, and I am still not sure! It tends to change on a weekly basis. I think going out and getting experience in the field is the best way to determine which area of PR is right for you.

#26. “How is PR Changing?” by Jeremy Porter

(4/15/10) Your article was really helpful! While I do use social media frequently for some of my online classes in PR, I think it is great that you say to “whip out your old textbooks.” It would be nice to know that my college career was worth something! It is so true that the modern audience has a large voice in marketing, advertising, public relations, and virtually every area of communications. Not only does this benefit the people themselves, but the businesses and companies who may not have to spend as much money on research as they used to. Social media makes it easier for conversations, and it will be interesting to see how it can and will most likely benefit public relations in the future.

#27. “Social Media Spring Cleaning Tips” by Kevin Dugan

I never really thought of the idea of “spring cleaning” for your social media. I am a big fan of change, and change my Facebook profile on a monthly basis. I didn’t think to change my Twitter or my blog profiles, possibly because I am less interested in them. Maybe by changing my picture, bio, and updating them so that they are current will make me want to use them more! I think the best thing about social media is the amount of personality and creativity you can put into it. The sky is the limit, and that can be intimidating but exciting at the same time.

#28.  “Social Media Defined in 140 Characters” by Kati Ann Wright

(4/15/10) Your definition for social media was great! I liked it because it was outside of the box and simple. I too find that with my cup of coffee in the morning comes logging online and checking the Internet. You made an excellent point when you said it needs to be like a billboard. Since you can only use 140 characters, I find myself paying attention to what others have to say more. I don’t enjoy reading blog post after blog post, and Twitter makes it quick and fast to read someone’s thoughts. I also really like your whale border, very cute!

#29. “Super Bowl Media” by Kacie Whigham

(4/15/10) I think it is clever to have featured “tweets” about the superbowl and other events. I enjoyed watching the E! Red Carpet during the Oscars because it showed celebrity twitter updates on the bottom of the screen. It is a fun way to stay current and feel connected with others across the world. I would much rather call someone and tell them about my feelings though, instead of posting it online. I think people need to get off the computer every now and then and talk to their friends face-to-face!

#30.  “TOW 13- David After Dentist” by Kacie Whigham

(4/15/10) I had never seen the video “Grape Lady Falls” until just now! That is hilarious. You are totally right when you say it is a sense of accomplishment to send a friend a funny viral video online. I spend a lot of time when I am bored watching videos on YouTube and sending the most ridiculous ones to my friends and family. They are such a cheap and easy form of entertainment that people all over the world can relate to. It is crazy how so many millions of people watch videos of just the Average Joe online! It is like a new form of fame.

2 Comments

Filed under Blog Comments 3030, PRCA 3030 Social Media

2 responses to “My Blog Comments- 3030

  1. smcclou3

    So I read a little bit of your comment about Jeremy Popper’s blog post, then I read his post to understand why you were refreshed. And I agree, it was really refreshing to have someone not sugar coat public relations and social media. I disagreed with you both on social media changing the world, not that it won’t because it already is. Look at how news on CNN is presented, we can send in our own iReports, follow our favorite anchors on Twitter, and receive mobile update of story coverage. While things might be changing I, like you, enjoy regular blogs, more than I would ever enjoy twitter or other forms of social media. I feel that they’ve become clutter, in turn doesn’t help anyone. Thanks for finding this blogger Lauren.

  2. smcclou3

    Your comment was so funny, my sentiments exactly. While I do have an internet enabled phone I never use that feature, it kills my battery and a computer is really never more than a few feet away at a given time. Like you I don’t think I would every use Foursquare. I’m not dumb, but I just don’t have the mental capacity to stuff one more piece of social media into my head. There’s also the time factor. When everyone else begins to wonder where their privacy went, those of us who didn’t share our entire lives with the world should toast to privacy. I foresee where one day reality will be like walking around in the SIMs, those who are supper connected will have giant glowing gems atop their heads; the rest of us who knows, maybe flowers.

Leave a Reply

