Be my guest…again!

The following post is by Makenzie Stratton, a fellow blogger in PRCA 3030. I write a post on the topic of PR reality shows, and found her article to be much more interesting! She talks about the show “Kell on Earth” and the effects it could have on the PR world. I loved reading it!

“Is Kell on Earth, bad news for the PR world?”

Bravo’s new show Kell on Earth, shows Public Relations practitioner, Kelly C in the world of fashion public relations. Kelly Cutrone is president and co-owner of People’s Revolution. People’s Revolution is a popular PR company to the world of television as it was seen in MTV’s reality shows “The Hills,” and “The City,” as both Lauren Conrad, and Whitney Port worked for Cutrone’s in the company.

Kelly Cutrone is a high power,  and tough PR executive, who is determined to get the job done, and to please her clients. The show has only aired a few episodes but I am interested to see how the show will continue to portray the field of Public Relations. Many movies nd television shows in the past have shown PR professionals are unethical professionals that lie and twist the truth in order to boost their client’s image.

My hopes for this show is that Kell on Earth will how that the world of Public Relations is not all fun and games. Public Relations majors take several classes on theories, and ethical researching. I take pride in knowing that as a future Public Relations professional I will serve both my client and the public ethically, and practice correctly. This show has shown the Public Relations is not just limited to party planning, and fabulous lunches with clients. Public Relations involving managing tough situations, holding your composure in a crisis, have strong connects with the press, and ensuring things run smoothly.

I hope Kell on Earth will prove to people who watch the show that Public Relations is hard work, and that it is not all fun and games. Where I worry about what the show may do to damage the field of PR I think with shows like this is can also gain awareness and understanding of what the field is as well. I will continue to watch the show and see what types of PR Kelly Cutrone and her company uses, and hopefully gain some knowledge that I can use for myself.

3 Comments

Filed under PRCA 3030 Social Media, TOW- Topics of the Week

3 responses to “Be my guest…again!

  1. I know for a fact that I will be watching this! Love KC even though she is bonkers.

  2. MeghanSpillers

    I LOVE Kell on Earth! Our class watched a few episodes in Mrs. Andrews’s Event Management class, and I really liked it. I think public relations gets a “party” reputation from Sex and the City’s character, Samantha Jones. However, the industry definitely is not that way. I think Kell on Earth does a great job of portraying a realistic view of public relations. It’s not just parties and cocktails with clients, there is actually a lot of hard work and stress that is involved with the job.

  3. Pingback: Comments Continued « Meghan's Public Relations Blog

Leave a Reply

