Happy 50th Birthday, Barbie!

Playing with Barbies was one of my favorite things to do when I was younger. Not only did I have dozens of normal dolls, but I also collected special-edition Barbies and had all sorts of books and other items about her. I just thought she was so awesome! Created by Mattel co-founder Ruth Handler in 1959, 2009 marked the 50th anniversary of the debut of Barbie on television. Over the past decades, she has had over 100 jobs and reflected the popular trends in society. Not only has the marketing and advertising behind Barbie made her a success in America, but Barbie is a household name in almost every country in the world. She has had her ups and downs, but has been able to maintain a great tan, shiny hair, and perfect figures all these  years. She sure doesn’t look 50 to me! This video discusses the public relations campaign that was created to celebrate the famous doll by Ogilvy PR. From events, store openings, and viral videos, the strategies used to promote Barbie’s 50th birthday have been used globally to reach the many audiences that are interested in the landmark event. I think Barbie deserves a huge piece of plastic cake and a date with Ken for all her achievements!

7 Comments

Filed under PR Connections, PRCA 3030 Social Media

7 responses to “Happy 50th Birthday, Barbie!

  1. Ha! Lauren, this post was too funny. I loved how honest and forthcoming you are about your “Barbie obsession”. I actually was reminded about an episode of the show “Project Runway” from Bravo while reading this post. On this episode, the designers were to create an outfit for Barbie. I think that this was a great marketing strategy for Mattel to reintroduce Barbie to adults by way of a fashion TV. show. I love the marketing campaign that Ogilvy PR has created and think that it is neat the way that they are revealing different aspects as it launches around the globe. I love the real life Barbie models! Where do I sign up for that job?

  2. Pingback: PRCA 3030: Blog Comments «

  3. aschlum1

    It is crazy how Barbie’s birthday can be such a big news story! I loved to play with Barbies when I was younger and they are most likely a part of every young girls life. PR is a major part of any product, company, or business. Barbie probably has a very good public relations representative! This post is interesting and got my attention as soon as I saw it. I think it is fun and many people will be surprised by the impact Barbie has had on so many people’s lives. I love your last line to about the plastic cake and Ken, too funny!

  4. Pingback: Blog Comments « AllieSchlumper's Blog

  5. Lauren,
    I highly enjoyed this post. It took me back to many childhood memories of playing in my room with multiple barbies fantasicing about the perfect life with Ken. Haha, sometimes I wish I could go back to that carefree, and imaginary world. But, as far as campaigns goes, this was so interesting. I loved it! How fun would this have been to be able to be on a campaign team to help the legendary “Barbie” celebrate her Birthday, with style and elegance, for Barbie fans around the world. What girl wouldn’t love a job like this? Thanks for the entertaining post, it cracked me up.
    -Kati Ann

  6. Pingback: Social Media Resume | Lauren Parr's Media Resume

  7. Pingback: Blogging Samples | Lauren Parr's Media Resume

Leave a Reply

