Photography Made Simple

I feel like my friends and family take way too many pictures. Not necessarily good photos, but random shots of everything and anything that is going on around them. I, on the other hand, do not share the same desire (or possess a decent camera) to take tons of pictures. When I do decide I want to capture something, I try to take the best picture I can. I took 2 years of photography in high school, and since I use a digital camera like everyone these days, I forgot that the skills I learned with my 35mm camera can also apply to my new camera. Here are a few things I try to remember when taking pictures:

Rule of Thirds

This is based around the idea that a picture can be divided into 9 equal parts, with 2 horizontal and 2 vertical lines going through it, creating 4 intersecting points. By aligning the center of interest or focal point on one of these 4 points, the picture looks more interesting and has more energy. This is definitely a rule that can spice up your photos because it’s more appealing to look at a photo that isn’t centered right in the middle.

Sunrise and a cow by *owen

http://tinyurl.com/6badel

Move Around!

I think people are afraid to move their bodies when they take pictures. My grandmother takes amazing photographs of my family, and I think look so unique because she seems to move with the shots. She captures the essence of the picture by taking them at different angles and distances. If you’re shooting kids or people in action, don’t be afraid to get on the ground and be creative!

4 Basic Elements

According to talented photographer Bob Krist, there are four components of a excellent photograph.

1. Good color

2. Good composition

3. Beautiful light

4. A sense of moment (tells a story)

Coccinellidae II - Mariquita in the beach by yamiq.

http://tinyurl.com/5oztp6

By keeping these different tips in mind, your photos can go from plain to pretty awesome!

Information used in this blog can be found at

http://dailyphototips.blogspot.com/

Leave a comment

Filed under Publications

Leave a comment